Golden Baseball Magazine
Catcher Interference Stops Play?

Situation: The Yankees had Nick Swisher on 3rd and Johnny Damon on 1st with two outs.

Mark Teixeira hit the ball over the head of Angels' CF Torii Hunter. As Teixeira started to run to 1st, home plate umpire Derryl Cousins ruled that C Jeff Mathis had interfered with Teixeira's swing. Both runners scored and Teixeira ended up on 3rd with a triple.

Reference: "Rule Review," Rich Marazzi, USA Today Sports Weekly, July 7-14, 2010


Baseball Quiz

Who am I?