CONTENTS

Throws Ball to Ball Girl

Bases Loaded Walk Ends Game - Or Does It?

Infield Fly on a Bunt?

Loafing Runner

Batter Pushes Runner Ahead

Does Run Count?

Batter's Foot Touches Plate As He Swings

Lights Go Out with Ball in Air

Ball Stuck in Jersey

Runner Fields Foul Ball

Fly Ball Hits Bird

Ball Under Catcher's Mask

Batter Gets Hit after Balk Call

 

How Would You Rule? – I

How Would You Rule? – II

How Would You Rule? – III

How Would You Rule? – IV

How Would You Rule? – V

How Would You Rule? – VI

How Would You Rule? – VII

How Would You Rule? – VIII

How Would You Rule? – X

How Would You Rule? – XII

How Would You Rule? – XIII

 

Baseball Magazine

Golden Rankings Home

Top of Page

How Would You Rule? – IX

You are presented with a situation that actually occurred or might occur in a game. To play along, decide how you would rule or score. Then click the button to find out what either the umpires or the official scorer actually decided.

Throws Ball to Ball Girl

July 26, 2011: Arizona @ San Diego

Situation: Diamondbacks batting in the top of the sixth with runners on first and second and one out.

Ryan Roberts hits a pop fly. 2B Orlando Hudson makes the catch in fair territory as he runs toward the foul line. He then flips the ball to the ball girl stationed along the RF line. She in turn tosses the ball to a fan in the stands. Realizing there are only two outs, 1B Jesus Guzman retrieves the ball from the fan. Can Guzman throw the ball to a teammate to keep the runners from advancing further?

Reference: Rule Review, Rich Marazzi, USA Today Sports Weekly August 10-16, 2011
Bases Loaded Walk Ends Game - Or Does It?

September 10, 2011 San Diego @ Arizona

Situation: Bottom of the tenth, score tied 5-5, two outs. The D'Backs have Justin Upton on third, Miguel Montero on second, and Geoff Blum on first.

Lyle Overbay draws a walk. Overbay runs to first and tags the bag while Upton jogs home and touches the plate. However, Montero begins his celebration and never reaches third base.

Padres manager Bud Black protests the game on the ground that Montero never touched third.

Reference: "Baseball Rules Corner," Rich Marazzi, Baseball Digest, January/February 2012
Top of Page
Infield Fly on a Bunt?

Situation: Runners on first and second with no outs.

The batter bunts the ball about 20 feet in the air between the P and C. The P allows the ball to fall to the ground untouched and picks up a DP by throwing to the 3B who throws to 2B.

Should the umpires have invoked the Infield Fly Rule on this play, with the batter called out and the runners staying at 1B and 2B?

Reference: "Baseball Rules Corner," Rich Marazzi, Baseball Digest, March/April 2010
Loafing Runner

Situation: Runner on second with one out.

The batter singles to RF. Rounding third, the base runner is obstructed by the 3B. Assuming that he will be awarded home in any case, the runner slows down and is thrown out at the plate.

Should the umpires negate the out at the plate and award the run?

Reference: "Baseball Rules Corner," Rich Marazzi, Baseball Digest, March/April 2010
Batter Pushes Runner Ahead

Situation: Runner on first and none out.

The batter hits a deep drive to CF. Thinking the ball might be caught, the runner retreats towards first. But the CF drops the ball. The batter is about to pass the runner who is returning to first. So the batter grabs his teammate and pushes him toward 2B where he arrives safely.

Should the runner be called out because of the assistance the batter gave him? Or should the batter be called out for assisting the runner?

Reference: "Baseball Rules Corner," Rich Marazzi, Baseball Digest, March/April 2010
Does Run Count?

Situation: Runners on first and third with one out.

The batter hits a grounder to 2B. Instead of going for the 4-6-3 DP, the 2B attempts to tag the runner coming from first. But the runner back pedals a couple of steps. So the 2B decides to throw to first and gets the batter for the second out. Then the 1B throws to the SS who tags out the runner from first, who resumed running after the throw to first. While all this is happening, the runner from third crosses home long before the third out is made.

Does the run count?

Reference: "Baseball Rules Corner," Rich Marazzi, Baseball Digest, March/April 2010
Batter's Foot Touches Plate As He Swings

The batter swings with part of one foot touching home plate and part of that foot in the batter's box. The result of the swing is a base hit.

Does the hit count?

Lights Go Out with Ball in Air

In Real Grass, Real Heroes, Dom DiMaggio recounted a play in a night game in the Georgia-Florida League in 1941.

Tex Willoughby came to bat for the Waycross (GA) Bears. He hit a high fly ball to RF, and just as it was coming down, the lights went out. The ball dropped into the outfield without being caught.

Reference: "Rule review," Rich Marazzi, USA Today Sports Weekly, June 9-15, 2010
Top of Page
Ball Stuck in Jersey

The White Sox and Braves meet in an interleague game in Chicago on June 22, 2010.

Situation: Two outs in the bottom of fourth.

Alex Rios hits a grounder that gets stuck in the jersey of 3B Brooks Conrad.

Reference: "Baseball Rules Corner," Rich Marazzi, Baseball Digest, March/April 2011
Top of Page
Runner Fields Foul Ball

Situation: Runners on first and third with one out.

The batter hits a chopper which rolls into foul territory down the 3B line. Before the ball comes to a stop in foul territory or travels foul past 3B, the runner fields the ball and flips it back to the P.

Should the runner be called out for interference?

Reference: "Rule review," Rich Marazzi, USA Today Sports Weekly, June 23-29, 2010
Top of Page
Fly Ball Hits Bird

The batter hits a fly ball that strikes a bird. The ball comes down and is caught by an outfielder.

Reference: "Rule Review," Rich Marazzi, USA Today Sports Weekly, April 6-12, 2011
Top of Page
Ball Under Catcher's Mask

July 25, 2010: Yankees vs Royals

Situation: Chan Ho Park pitching to Brayan Pena of Kansas City with Rick Ankiel on third.

Park's pitch is in the dirt and rolls a few feet to the right where it ends up under C Jorge Posada's discarded mask.


Reference: "Baseball Rules Corner," Rich Marazzi, Baseball Digest, March/April 2011
Top of Page
Batter Gets Hit after Balk Call

Situation: A runner is on first with no outs.

  • The pitcher fakes a throw to first and in the same motion hurls the ball to the plate.
  • The home plate umpire immediately calls a balk.
  • The batter swings and hits a single into left center field.
  • The runner rounds second and tries to go to third but is thrown out by the CF.

Do the hit and the out at third stand?

Reference: "Baseball Rules Corner," Rich Marazzi, Baseball Digest September/October 2010
Top of Page