Football Quiz: Miscellaneous
Football Rivalry Quiz
Match these college football rivalries with the trophy that is awarded to the winner.
  1. Arizona - Arizona State
  2. Central Florida - South Florida
  3. Indiana- Purdue
  4. Iowa - Nebraska
  5. Kentucky - Louisville
  6. Minnesota - Wisconsin
  7. Notre Dame - Stanford
  1. Governor's Cup
  2. Heroes Trophy
  3. Legends Trophy
  4. Old Oaken Bucket
  5. Paul Bunyan's Axe
  6. Territorial Cup
  7. War on I-4 Trophy

In each case, five choices are listed along with a category. Pick the ONE choice in each category that does NOT belong.
  1. Heisman Trophy winners
    Alan Ameche, John Cappeletti, Payton Manning, Davey O'Brien, Vinny Testaverde

  2. Former members of the Big Eight Conference
    Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, Oklahoma State, Texas Christian

  3. Schools in the Sun Belt Conference 2018-19
    Appalachian State, Coastal Carolina, Georgia Southern, Texas San Antonio, Texas State

  4. Coaches who have won multiple Sugar Bowl games
    Chuck Fairbanks, Charles McClendon, Urban Meyer, Mark Richt, Barry Switzer

Match each NFL rule with the year in which it was enacted.

  1. No horse collar tackle
  2. No hits below the knees
  3. Illegal contact by DB after 5y
  4. Play is dead if "in the grasp"
A. 1978
B. 1989
C. 1995
D. 2005

Fact: In NCAA football, two players on the same team can wear the same number.

True or false? The two players can play the same position.

True or false?

In the NFL, a pass that ricochets off the crossbar or upright is a live ball.

Which FBS team has each exact color combination?

(A) Crimson and cream
(B) Navy blue and burnt orange
(C) Garnet and gold
(D) Maize and dark blue

NCAA football scenario:
Team A blocks the extra point of Team B. A player on Team A attempts to advance the ball but retreats into the end zone and is tackled. Team B is awarded:

(A) 1 point.
(B) 2 points.
(C) 6 points.
(D) Nothing. It's a dead ball.

In 1958, the NCAA approved the first change in the football scoring rules since 1912. What was the change?

Match each conference with the year in which it was founded.

  1. Atlantic Coast Conference
  2. Big Ten
  3. Southeastern Conference
  4. Big East
(A) 1896
(B) 1933
(C) 1953
(D) 1979

Where is the College Football Hall of Fame located?

All states in the following list have exactly one Division IA football team except one. What is the state that doesn't belong?

  1. Minnesota
  2. New York
  3. Nebraska
  4. Missouri
  5. Connecticut

What is the maximum number of points a college team can win by in overtime?

How is it possible for a non-forfeited football game to end with a score of 1-0?


Give the meaning of each of these abbreviations used in football statistics.

(A)TFL      (B) YAC





College Players

College Traditions


NFL Players




Who Am I?


Football Magazine

Golden Rankings Home